Boys Varsity Baseball · Baseball I-8 Conference Champs…3rd straight year!

The Marshall Redhawks Baseball team swept Harper Creek on Tuesday,
May 22nd at Cooper Field.    The wins give MHS the I-8 Baseball
Conference Championship outright.    Their final league record is
12-2.  This is after losing their opening 2 games the Redhawks ran off
12 straight wins to capture the I-8 Championship.

In game one the Redhawks beat Harper by the score of 5-1.   Evan Asselin picked up the win on
the mound by shutting out the Beavers over 6 innings as he held them
to 4 hits and K’d 6.    Asselin now has 6 wins and 1 loss in
conference play.  Zack Zacharski came into close the game out in the
7th inning to get the save.   Offensively,  Logan Austin had 2 hits
(2B) while scoring 2 runs.  Calvin Fulmer knocked in 3 runs, Jarett
DeLand had a double, a RBI, and a run scored.    John Nash and Rickey
Nye each had a single and run scored.

In game two, the Redhawks defeated Harper Creek by the same score of
5-1.  Kole DeLand had a single that knocked in 2 runs, as did Cooper
Middleton.  Matt Lubis had a single and scored 2 important runs.
Bryce Munn doubled.   On the mound Zack Zacharski picked up his 5th
conference win by limiting Harper Creek to one run, 6 hits while
striking out 5 over 6 innings of work.  Logan Austin pitched the 7th
inning retiring the Beavers in order.

This is the 3rd straight year the Redhawks have won the I-8
Championship (first year outright)    Their overall record is 20-11 as
they look forward to hosting the MHSAA Districts on June 2nd at Cooper